Membership Advancement Trophy

Name: The SBYC Membership Award
Criteria: Awarded to a member making an outstanding contribution to attracting, training and/or maintaining new members to SBYC.  This award may recognize multiple year contributions and is not necessarily awarded every year.  Normally the incumbent Membership chair is not eligible for this award.

Prior to 2014, the award was to member(s) sponsoring the most new members during the previous year.  In 2014, the Executive restricted the award to members sponsoring more than three (not achieved in 2014).  In 2015, new criteria (above) were adopted.

Dedicated and Donated By:
Last Amended: 24 Mar 2018


Any errors, omissions or updates to these data should be reported to the SBYC Historian (

Once again, recruiting largest number of new members.

Year Recipient Citation Boat Name
2004 Bram & Maryke Oudshoorn 5 members sponsored  
2005 Ian & Paddy Waymark 7 members sponsored  
2006 Val & Don Spears 5 members sponsored  
2007 Graeme & Jenny Ireland 6 members sponsored Thetis 
2008 Jordan & Kerry Sorrenti   Sounder 
2009 Graeme & Jenny Ireland   Thetis
2010 Graeme & Jenny Ireland Thetis
2011 Regan Lall & Sylvie Gendreau Eveready
2013 Douglass Legg   Skoots 
2014 Not Awarded    
2015  Jenny Ireland Once again, recruiting largest number of new members. Thetis 
2016 Not Awarded