Talent Award

Name: SBYC Talent Award
Criteria: Awarded to a member or members who have exhibited “rare” talents at club events during the past year.

Originally this award was named “Annual Sailing Trophy.”  It was rededicated in 1985: To that sailor, not on the executive who contributes to the betterment of the club.  After 1991 this award was rededicated for the best ….

The first talent night was held on February 23rd, 1991.  There were seven skits performed:

“Wheels of Misfortune,” a poem
“Boating Jeopardy,” – boating Q & A
“The Saliva Bay Boys,” – lip-syncing
“The Scuppers,” – songs
“A Sea Verse,” – I Must Go Down to the Sea Again by John Masefield
“Knot Me,” – skit on nautical knots
“The Last Surprise,” – skit

Dedicated and Donated By:
Last Amended: 24 Mar 2018


Any errors, omissions or updates to these data should be reported to the SBYC Historian (historian@silvabayyachtclub.com)

Year Recipient Talent
1985 Hans Andersen Unknown
1986 Iren & Rex Malthouse Unknown
1987 Erik Bentzen Unknown
1991 Art Renny Poem “Wheels of Misfortune”
1992 Susan Marshall Singing – “Spring Beach Delight,” a ditty about her island lovely with hips called Twirly and Girly played by commodore, George.  The award was presented for outstanding “honey Buns.”
1994 Bob Alexander Best act off the water “Tiny Tim.”
1995 Not awarded
1996 Irv Boichuk Lip Sync
1997 Wil & Tracey Der
1998 Don Butt
1999 Pat Allen & Dorothy Rigby
2007 Cathy McCaffrey & Kerry Sorrenti
2008 Kathy & Kerry; Larry & Sara Gordon
2009 Lynn Coleman – SV Hannibal Lip Sync of “Me and Bobby McGee”
2010 David Kellenberger – MV At Ease For his entertaining DJ work and production of videos of club cruises in 2007, 2008 & 2009
2011 Marilyn Cunningham – SV Peter Duck For her fantastic home cooking, baking, etc. for club potlucks, etc. on the SBYC club cruise to Puget Sound
2012 David Kellenberger “The Wolfman” – popular DJ at the annual Commodore’s Ball
2013 Shawn Titterton – MV Swanlinbar Exceptionally decorated Easter Eggs at SBYC Easter Cruise
2014 David Kellenberger – MV At Ease For entertaining the club with his numerous and talented DJ personas.
2015 Bob Wood – SV Sojourner  For his continued creative work with the Social Committee.
2016 Shaun Whelan – MV Fraser For putting together amazing slide shows and music for special events.